Skip to content

Volunteer committees looking for a few good men and women

A few vacancies remain for residents wishing to volunteer on various committees, according to city clerk Donna Delvecchio, and anyone who’s interested can fill out an online application form on the city’s website.
City Hall looking for a few more volunteers. Bob Liddycoat/ Thorold News

Preserving Thorold’s green space and heritage, enhancing its businesses, recreation and tourism, and generally improving the city are common goals that inspire and drive its numerous committees.

A few vacancies remain for residents wishing to volunteer, according to city clerk Donna Delvecchio, and anyone who’s interested can fill out an online application form by clicking on the Municipal Directory tab on the city’s website at

On Saturday, we are doing our first-ever council committee training session,” she told ThoroldNews. “The session will do some goal-setting for the committees, let them know what they signed up for, speak about policies,” and teach them skills such as how to run an effective meeting.

I’ve always felt we have to support our volunteers and give them a good start if we want them to be successful and I hope we can achieve that,” she added.

Council recently approved the appointment of the following individuals to the city’s respective committees and boards, to coincide with the current four-year council term:

Age Friendly Committee: Lora Vary, Rhianon Burkholder, Jean D’Amelio Swyer, Leslie Daniels, Sebastian Soccio-Marandola, Meredith (Mimi) Peachy, Bev Smith, Caroline Bourque Wiley, Joey Hewitt, Dan Pelletier.

Allanburg Community Recreation Centre Board of Management:  James Symons, Kyle Berketo.

Darlene Ryan Port Robinson Community Centre Board of Management Marty Wilson, Britney Chalmers, Allison Misener, Rae Whitty, Nicole Hirst, Judy Gray.

Downtown Parking Committee: Serge Carpino, Marsha Coppola, John Maletta, Tim Whalen, Nick D’ellomo, Mike Skrtich, Vito Perri.

Heritage Thorold (LACAC)Craig Finlay, Ray Borland, Tom Russell, Joe Prytula, Randy Barnes, Michael Charron, Linda Borland.

Joint Accessibility Advisory Committee: Frank Pupillo, Joey Hewitt.

Lake Gibson Corridor Preservation Task Group: Joe Atkinson, Sarah King Head, Tony Vandermaas, Dominic (Mickey) DiFruscio, Mike Schofield, Marsha Coppola.

Parks, Trails and Recreation Committee: Tony Vandermaas, Penny Palmer, Jean D’Amelio Swyer, Andrew Hayward, James Symons, Elizabeth Yates, Dan Pelletier, Tonya Kornelsen.

Thorold Active Transportation Advisory Committee: Marie Claire Cavasin, Beate Wolf, Dan Pelletier, Justin Cunningham.

Thorold Downtown Facade Technical Advisory Committee: Craig Finlay, Serge Carpino, David Robbins.

Thorold Public Library Board: Tony Vandermaas, Larry Cohen, Sergio Paone, Andrew Foster, Len Ferry, Dawn Dobbie.

Thorold Runway of Recognition Committee: Edward Pizzo, Marsha Coppola, Cindy Dickson, Bob Elliott, Tim Whalen.

Thorold Tourism Advisory Committee: Robert Merrill, Tony Vandermaas, Joe Prytula, Randy Barnes, Sebastian Soccio-Marandola, Rene Inman, Dan Pelletier, Tim Sinnett.

Town and Gown Advisory Committee: Sergio Paone, Penny Palmer, Tim Miotto, Penny Kreamer, Gary Citrigno, Janice Kroetsch, Italo Marandola, Andrew Natale, Paul Carfagnini.

Committee of Adjustment/Property Standards: John Theisen, Edward Pizzo, George Ravenek, Henry D’Angela, Glen Jackson.

Thorold Municipal Non-Profit Housing Corporation: Edward Pizzo, Sergio Paone, George Ravenek, Kevin Cowling, Henry D’Angela.

For more information, visit



Cathy Pelletier

About the Author: Cathy Pelletier

Cathy Pelletier is an award-winning newspaper journalist/editor who writes for
Read more