Skip to content

The Camp House in Port Robinson

The "Good Morning" series is featuring all 50 of Thorold's currently designated Heritage Properties
0
USED 7-camp-house
The Thorold Heritage property series. Camp House 48 Canby St. Pt. Robinson 1855 Bob Liddycoat / Thorold News

Submitted to the Thorold News by Thorold's official historian, Sarah King Head:

****************************
This fine Ontario Cottage-style house showcases a central-gabled façade, pagoda-roofed verandah and Gothic gingerbread ornamentation. 

Built in c. 1855 probably for William Dundonald Ross, the one-and-a-half storey frame house nonetheless has become most closely associated with its longest residents, the Camp family. 

Its modest sale price of $500 in 1890 reflects the waning economic prospects Port Robinson experienced after the Third Welland Canal bypassed the village and fire devastated much of its business area in 1888. Members of the Camp family lived here until 1986.





Comments